The Cast

BECKERWilliam Becker. Executive Director of the Presidential Climate Action Project. An international expert on sustainable development, Mr. Becker is a voice for practical solutions for America’s leaders to address the climate crisis and move towards a new, clean-energy economy.

BENEDICKRichard Benedick, PhD. Chief U.S. Negotiator to the Montreal Protocol, 1985-87 State Department. Ambassador Benedick played a key role in hammering out the details of the international treaty that phased out CFCs globally.

CLAUSSENEileen Claussen. Currently the President of Center for Climate and Energy Solutions, Ms. Claussen has had a prolific career in international environmental policy, serving in the Environmental Protection Agency—where she was responsible for issues such as ozone depletion, energy efficiency, and acid rain—and in the State Department, the National Security Council, and as Chairman of the UN Multilateral Fund.

DONIGERDavid Doniger. Now the Policy Director of the Climate Center for Natural Resources Defense Council (NRDC), Mr. Doniger advocated for the phase-out of CFCs in the 1980s. As an attorney for NRDC, he filed an influential lawsuit to force the EPA to regulate CFCs under the Clean Air Act.

DUDEKDaniel Dudek, PhD. Chief Economist at the Environmental Defense Fund with an expertise in China, Mr. Dudek is an international expert in cap- and-trade systems. He cut his teeth developing the successful cap-and-trade system used to regulate sulfur dioxide emissions from coal-fired power plants—the source of acid rain.

FAYKevin Fay. Mr. Fay served as the Executive Director of the Alliance for Responsible CFC Policy, a trade association of major CFC producers— including DuPont—from 1980-89.

GOODELLJeff Goodell. An author and Contributing Editor for Rolling Stone, Mr. Goodell is the author of Big Coal, which uncovers the hidden costs to environment, health, and community of the coal-fired power plants that supply nearly 50% of our nation’s electricity.

LOVINSHunter Lovins. President and Founder of Natural Capitalism Solutions, Ms. Lovins is a nationally recognized expert in sustainable development who argues that market mechanisms can fuel economic growth while protecting the environment.

MOLINAMario Molina, PhD. An Atmospheric Scientist at U.C. San Diego and Scripps Institution of Oceanography, Dr. Molina co-developed the hypothesis that CFCs were destroying the ozone layer, for which he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1995.

NILLESBruce Nilles. As National Coal Campaign Director for the Sierra Club, Mr. Nilles works to phase out coal mining and coal-generated electricity production in the United States.

OPPENHEIMERMichael Oppenheimer, PhD. A Princeton Professor and contributor to the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, Dr. Oppenheimer served a productive tenure at Environmental Defense Fund (Chief Scientist, 1981-96), where he focused on the most pressing issues of the day—including ozone depletion, acid rain, and climate change.

ROANShari Roan. A long-time journalist with the LA Times, Ms. Roan is the author of Ozone Crisis, the definitive account of the 15-year struggle to phase out CFC production and protect the ozone layer.

ROGERSJames Rogers. Currently Chairman, President, and CEO of Duke Energy, a Fortune 500 company, Mr. Rogers has publicly advocated for a cap and trade system to regulate CO2 emissions, without which there is less incentive to invest in alternative energy. Duke’s proposed merger with Progress Energy would create the nation’s largest electric utility, as measured by enterprise value, market capitalization, generation assets, and customers, among other criteria.

ROWLANDF. Sherwood Rowland, PhD. An Atmospheric Scientist at U.C. Irvine, Dr. Rowland co- developed the hypothesis that CFCs deplete the ozone layer— for which he and Dr. Molina were awarded the 1995 Nobel Prize in Chemistry. He was a vocal advocate for phasing out CFCs throughout the 1970s and 80s.

SOLOMONSusan Solomon, PhD. An Atmospheric Scientist at the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, Dr. Solomon led the first National Ozone Expedition to Antarctica in 1986, which laid the groundwork for proving that CFCs were causing the ozone hole. Later, she was a key contributor to the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change team that was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 2007.

SULLIVANGeneral Gordon Sullivan (retired). A former Army Chief of Staff during the Clinton Administration, General Sullivan is a member of CNA’s Military Advisory Board and co- author of its groundbreaking reports linking the threat of climate change to national security.

THOMASLee Thomas. As Administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency during the Reagan Administration, Mr. Thomas forged the domestic and international consensus necessary to negotiate the Montreal Protocol, which phased out the production of CFCs worldwide—and provide one of the most important models for crafting a new climate change treaty today.

WATSONRobert Watson, PhD. As a leading atmospheric scientist at NASA (1980-1993), Dr. Watson organized the National Ozone Expeditions that proved CFCs were causing the ozone hole, and developed the system of international scientific assessments that form the basis of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, which he later chaired.

“[Shattered Sky] reminds us that we can overcome our biggest energy and climate challenges if we confront them with resolve, confidence, and a sense of optimism.”

—Nicholas Eisenberger, Clean energy pioneer